Short Ones: Air Con Rant

This will be a really short one as this is just something that’s been bothering me ever since I started working corporate.

Like most offices, relies on air conditioning to keep everyone inside cool and fresh. Instead of a centralized cooling system, our office is equipped with multiple individual air conditioning units to keep the air cool. Therein lies the problem. Everyone obviously has their own temperature preference and of course not everyone will be pleased by what setting you turn the air con on.It’s been said before that air conditioning at workplaces is sexist, at least in corporate America. It was something about how men in America intentionally lower the temperature knowing that women have a lower tolerance for the cold so as to oppress them. Now, I don’t know how much of this is true (I don’t live in America and I’ve never worked there once) but I doubt anyone would have such a sinister motive behind keeping the office cold.

My opinion on the matter is simple. It’s fairer to keep the temperature cold rather than to warm up the room. Why? Because when one feels cold, one can always put on more layers to keep warm, whereas when a co-worker is warm, he/she does not have the option to shed clothes in an office setting. I mean, I wouldn’t mind it if I could work in my skivvies but I’m sure plenty of people would take issue with that.

Where I work, I usually retain control of the air conditioning unit closest to my desk.Personally, I like to keep the thermostat as low as it can go (I sweat easily and this is how I stay cool). The stations next to me, however, are all occupied by people who get chilly if you so much as blow them a kiss. They actually have their air con set to FAN, meaning not only does it not cool the air at all, their unit actually blows hot air from the outside. Let me reiterate that. It blows HOT, TROPICAL AIR from the outside. Jesus, talk about a waste of electricity.

skyrim-tropical

So here we see the dilemma. We now have to air con units competing with each other,one is trying to control the temperature inside the room while the other is essentially a giant hair drying trying to make our office as arid as the Sahara. For fuck’s sake, if it’s really that cold for you, put on a jacket and turn off your air con. Don’t make it worse for the rest of us that have sweat problems. Again, I’d like to point out that I can’t undress in here. No one wants to see that.

Author: julul

Gamer, glutton, and frustrated critic

1 thought on “Short Ones: Air Con Rant”

Leave a Reply

